To Kindle or Not To Kindle??


I have really been debating whether or not to actually get a Kindle and start using it for reading. I am always with a book, at least a fiction one, and sometimes when I read a a non-fiction book I am with two. So the Kindle would certainly help in making it easier to tote many books around without breaking my back.

But is reading digital sacrilegious to those of us who value the old paper books? The smell of a new book is exciting for me. It’s just bursting with new adventures, ideas, and potential. I get all hot and bothered over it. It’s sad, but it’s true. I’m attracted to books. They are the other woman in my marriage. Just ask my wife! She’s a long time book widow.

But let’s get back to the point. Should we be making a switch over to a device that holds all of our books in one place  and should we be doing all of our reading on a screen? The Kindle looks to me like a slightly over-sized iPod touch. Is that really all it is? I’m excited and relieved that it’s now finally available here in Canada, but that fact has now made me start seriously considering the pros and cons of using it. My wife had just assumed that I would want one no matter what. She was surprised and shocked when I told her that I wasn’t so sure about them.

I mean, isn’t half the pleasure of reading a book these days in being able to turn off the TV, radio, Wii, phone, etc, etc, etc, and just sit down and quietly turn the pages of a really good story? (or memoir, essay, non-fiction etc.) I really see it as an escape from everyday life. Although I have to admit, it seems that I am more often reading amidst the distractions these days, as opposed to getting away from them, so maybe getting a Kindle is the way to go. If you can’t beat em, join em!

I don’t know….

What I do know, is that I don’t have one and I haven’t been given the chance to look at one or review one (anybody from Amazon reading…..?) so I can’t really pass judgement until I can try one out. So how can a normal, everyday guy get his hands on a new Kindle to try it out? He can’t. So once again, we’re back to the original question of whether or not to get one.

I may have to be the Guinea Pig here and try one out, biting the bullet and forking out the dough to buy one. Thereby giving you guys the low down. Unless……yes, I’m having an idea here……yes, that’s it! Maybe one of you have already got one and would care to share your experience here with us? No? Maybe?

I’ll wait a little while and see if anyone out there answers the call. In the meantime, I’ll just sit here and see if I can get any more out of the 360 degree photo of the Kindle on the Amazon website.

So here it is, the question of the day…

Would you buy a kindle?

4 thoughts on “To Kindle or Not To Kindle??

  1. Having read this I believed it was rather enlightening.
    I appreciate you finding the time and effort to put this article
    together. I once again find myself personally spending a lot of time both reading and leaving comments.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

    Like

  2. My husband and I have been debating this very thing recently. The Kindle does hold a certain appeal for us. We have more books than bookshelves at this point. I just worry that with advances in the technology, they will be like laptops – can’t upgrade them just have to buy a whole new one and then will the books you purchased for the older version still work on the new one. Lots of questions and not enough answers for me at this point. I’d love to play with one as well. That is an advantage to the Nook from Barnes & Noble for us – we were able to go into a store and take a quick look at it. I have a hard time imagining reading just from a screen but I’m willing to give it a fair shot.

    Like

  3. On Monday nights on A&E there’s a terrible train-wreck show called Hoarders. I can’t look away. When it’s on I am captivated – mountains of garbage and stuff, crammed in every corner, up the walls and overflowing out the doors of clearly mentally-ill people’s homes. It’s sad, but deliciously voyeuristic.
    Makes me feel better about my crap.
    My crap is cleaner than their crap.
    Still, the show whispers in my ear like the devil on my shoulder: don’t ever acquire so much crap a team of Molly Maids has to shovel their way through my crap to find me.
    Which brings me to the Kindle.
    I figure the Kindle is another sensational must-have item which creates a problem just to justify it’s existence. It’s like a bad infomercial: It’s a pot – and a strainer!! Never cut cake again – the pan cuts it for you!!
    Too many pesky books on that shelf, just wasting space and adding to your crap? The solution: buy a Kindle. No more clutter, no more crap.
    I call shenanigans.
    You’re right Todd, books are awesome. Kindle is a novelty (get it? Novelty? Haha). Books will never go away. You can take a book anywhere, accidently drop it, dredge it, rip it, let the dog shake it, and you can still read it. Try that with a Kindle.
    Now, don’t get me wrong; my books are my treasures. When I loan friends books they look at me sideways, disbelieving that I actually read the book because it hardly looks cracked. No page is torn or dog-eared. However, with my luck I would carry my Kindle to work and accidently fall down the stairs that day. Too much stress.
    My books define who I am – I surround myself with my books in my living room and bedroom. They bring me comfort and peace in my typically technological lifestyle.
    Books are social – you can loan them, share them, refer to them and give them as gifts. Kindle is just another way for book-lovers, who I believe tend to be somewhat solitary, to be even more solitary.
    I’m sure there’s a demographic out there for Kindle (like students who get premature back and shoulder problems and tendinitis hauling around 50 lb bags of books every day), but for the recreational reader, Kindle is just another money-grab.
    Book-lovers will always buy books. Books are like cigarettes – the addiction is holding it and using it – turning the pages and fanning the paper between your fingers. Reading a book is a journey, the pages are the road and you can see where you’re going and how far you’ve been.
    And dammit, if my collection of books gets out of hand and I go missing under a pile of best-sellers and cult-classics, just send over the Molly Maids and ask them not to mind the smell… I’m reading.
    I think I’m going to go hug a book now.
    Thanks Todd.

    Like

Speak to me, I love listening...

