Breaking News!! Get ready for a THE Book Report!


Breaking News!

I will be starting my own version of a book review, or perhaps a ‘non’ book review called The Hurley Edition Book Report. Instead of presuming to review a book, believing that I know best or better than anyone else, especially the author, I’d rather write my own thoughts and impressions of a book, promoting it and the author along the way. After all, it’s a small world and business we are in and we should be encouraging each other, not tearing each other down, which I have seen in many “book review blogs”. So I thought a new approach would be in order and that approach is —- a THE Report. (The Hurley Edition Report) So keep on the lookout for those, as they are a new concept and welcome addition to The Hurley Edition that will be launching soon with a book close to my heart, and that’s all I’ll say for now!! Soon, everyone will be saying, “Have you been reviewed by The Globe & Mail?”, “Not yet, but I’ve been given a THE Report on The Hurley Edition!!” says the beaming author! That’s my hope, anyway.

I was always told, “If you don’t have anything nice to say, then don’t say anything at all!” This way, I don’t promise to write a review for every book or ARC that I receive, but I CAN promise to write a THE Report on books that strike me as great, interesting, amazing, as well as needing that all important exposure that we so desperately need as beginning writers, or even as published writers; especially here in Canada. So it is in the spirit of mutual beneficial involvement that I start this endeavour. I would also encourage as many fellow bloggers, authors, both, and even the mainstream media to create their own versions of THE Reports. Book reports on what was good or great about the book that you’ve read. Look for the amazing things in a book that you read instead of criticisms to put others down, or make them look bad in the harsh public light of the mainstream media, perhaps costing authors a chance at nominations for awards or agents or grants. All of these are incredibly important to anyone trying to “get the voices out of their heads” and onto the page. In the end, we all benefit from better supported arts. We get better books and artists who just may be able….maybe…to live above the poverty line for the first time in our country’s history.

As always, you know how to reply to or email me with your own thoughts. Let them loose, I say!

~ todd

One thought on “Breaking News!! Get ready for a THE Book Report!

Speak to me, I love listening...

